Nebula Winners

Best Novel: The Speed of Dark by Elizabeth Moon. OK, so it deals with a subject close to my heart, but it really is a good book. The only other nominee I’d read, Diplomatic Immunity by Lois McMaster Bujold, was great but minor by Bujold’s standards.

Best Novella: Coraline by Neil Gaiman. This gives Gaiman two wins out of two nominations in the written fiction categories for both Hugo and Nebula, and makes Coraline the 55th story to get the double. I thought it had some strong competition (and several others were more like Nebula winners) but obviously Gaiman is on a roll right now.

Best Novelette: “The Empire of Ice Cream” by Jeffrey Ford. The best in its category I thought. At first seems to be just a bizarro piece about synaesthesia but then turns out to have a plot as well.

Best Short Story: “What I Didn’t See” by Karen Joy Fowler. Creepy story about gorillas.

Best Script: The Two Towers, beating Minority Report, Where No Fan Has Gone Before, Spirited Away and Finding Nemo.

Grand Master Award (as I had predicted) to Robert SilverbergCharles Harness, which seems really to be a prize for having reached the age of 89 and published one classic story in 1953 (along with other work varying from competent to good).

This entry was posted in Uncategorised. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Nebula Winners

  1. rosefox says:

    This may also interest you.

Comments are closed.