Northern Ireland Elections Website has been updated

I’ve spent the weekend updating the Northern Ireland Elections Website with the details of last year’s Assembly election. I had thought I might have a bit longer to work on it, but circumstances have changed and the update is needed now – or indeed ten days ago, to be honest, but other issues have kept me from it.

The coming election is going to see at least 18 of the members of Northern Ireland’s Assembly lose their jobs, because each of the 18 constituencies will elect five rather than six MLAs, for a total of 90 rather than 108. We are already seeing dignified withdrawals (most notably from Martin McGuinness). The 18 constituencies are East Belfast, North Belfast, South Belfast, West Belfast, East Antrim, North Antrim, South Antrim, North Down, South Down, Fermanagh and South Tyrone, Foyle, Lagan Valley, East Londonderry, Mid Ulster, Newry and Armagh, Strangford, West Tyrone, and Upper Bann.

Thanks as ever to Conal Kelly who updated the graphs and did some of the heavy lifting elsewhere as well.